Requires Adobe AIR
The website 'memorease.ca' will no longer be in operation as of March 1, 2018. MemorEase - Personal Document Organizational Software will still be available at 'memorease.karljuhlke.com'.
In order to keep your software up to date, you'll need to download the latest version directly from the site, as the 'Update' button inside the software will no longer work unless you have v.1.4.0 installed.
Any links to pages on the MemorEase site, including shared documents in the database, will be automatically forwarded to the new domain.
Requires Adobe AIR
MemorEase (the 'Program') was designed and programmed by Karl Juhlke (the 'Developer'). Any person or group (the 'User') is granted permission to use the Program for use in organizing documents, personal or otherwise, for any legal purpose. The Program is distributed for both personal and commercial use.
The Program is distributed AS IS, without warranty of any kind. Under no circumstances will the Developer be held liable for any damages done to the User's property(s) (including, but not limited to loss of data, security breach, software corruption, or hardware failure) through the direct use of or an assumed connection with the Program. The User takes full responsibility for any damages that may incur through the use of the Program.
The Program will only be hosted on server(s) deemed appropriate by the Developer. Under no circumstances will the User be allowed to host the Program on any server, for distribution or other purpose, without the written consent of the Developer. The User is free to share video and image captures of the Program for any purpose, including monetary gain. The Program is not for resale, nor can the User sell copies of the Program for any amount.
The personal information stored in the User's account is owned solely by the User and will not be transferred, electronic or otherwise, to the Developer or any third party without the User's expressed permission.
To help protect the User's login information, the user data is encrypted with a varying algorithm to ensure that the User can only access their own information. If the username or password of a User are forgotten, both can be retrieved via an email message. By accessing this feature, the User gives their expressed permission for the Developer to retrieve and send login information to the User via the email associated with that account.
With an active internet connection, the User can upload document(s) with the public via the shared document feature located directly within the Program. The User agrees that the uploaded document(s) does not contain any questionable content including, but not limited to: trademark or copyright infringement, plagiarism, hate speech, or malicious content. By uploading document(s) to the database, the User acknowledges and agrees to the terms that the content is subject to review by the Developer and can be removed at any time without notice, written or otherwise. The User also acknowledges and will not hold the Developer responsible if some or all content is ever made unavailable at any time, for reasons including but not limited to: server disruption, database issues, removal of the shared document feature, or for reasons as outlined above. The User understands that they give their expressed permission to the Developer to store document(s) both on the Developer's server for public access for an indefinite amount of time or until the User requests the document's deletion, as well as being stored in regular offline database backups. If the User chooses to remove the document(s) from the database, the User understands that the document(s) will not be removed from previous database backups. The User also takes responsibility for removing all links to the document(s) shared on any site, if they choose to remove the document(s) from the database. As the shared document feature is completely optional, no User will ever have content uploaded against the User's will by the Developer. The Developer will not be held liable in any way, shape, or form if the User's content is uploaded by any other means without the User's expressed permission.
Copyright (c) 2013 gskinner.com, inc.
Permission is hereby granted, free of charge, to any person obtaining a copy of this software and associated documentation files (the "Software"), to deal in the Software without restriction, including without limitation the rights to use, copy, modify, merge, publish, distribute, sublicense, and/or sell copies of the Software, and to permit persons to whom the Software is furnished to do so, subject to the following conditions:
The above copyright notice and this permission notice shall be included in all copies or substantial portions of the Software.
THE SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS", WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND NONINFRINGEMENT. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE AUTHORS OR COPYRIGHT HOLDERS BE LIABLE FOR ANY CLAIM, DAMAGES OR OTHER LIABILITY, WHETHER IN AN ACTION OF CONTRACT, TORT OR OTHERWISE, ARISING FROM, OUT OF OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE SOFTWARE OR THE USE OR OTHER DEALINGS IN THE SOFTWARE.
There are multiple reasons why you can't login after creating an account. The first and foremost reason could be that your username and/or password were entered in incorrectly. Double check your spelling, and try again. If your password and username were correct, open up the install folder for MemorEase. On Windows it should be located in 'C:\Program Files (x86)\MemorEase\'. Look for the file named 'users.msf'. If this file isn't there, you need to run the program as an administrator in order for the program to write files to your computer. Either of these solutions should fix the issue.
The 'users.msf' file is an encrypted file storing all MemorEase login information for every user on that computer.
If your 'users.msf' file is missing or corrupt, you can delete the file and relaunch the program. Relaunching the program will create a new version of the 'users.msf' file. Go to the install folder for MemorEase. Copy the 'users' directory to another location to back it up. MemorEase won't erase the files in this folder during this process, but it's good practice to have backups. Once you've backed up your 'users' folder, create your account again in MemorEase using the same username and MemorEase name. Once you've recreated the account, log into the program. All of your documents should show up. On the rare occasion that they haven't, copy your backup folder back into the install folder. Once you've completed that, restart MemorEase and login again.
MemorEase has its own file format, *.msf. In here, documents are stored in XML format for easy access. These files can be encrypted as well through the user preferences option in MemorEase.
You may want to access your *.msf files from time to time. Though recommended that you don't edit them directly, due to the fact that you may impact the overall structure of the file making it unreadable by MemorEase, we do recommend that you create regular backups of them. The files are located in the following locations
WINDOWS: C:\Users\USER_NAME\AppData\Roaming\MemorEase\Local Store\users
MAC: /Users/USER_NAME/Library/Preferences/MemorEase/Local Store/users
Simply go to the appropriate location, open the folder with your username, and you'll see two files per MemorEase library, '*-documents.msf' and '*-era_cat.msf'. Both are needed for each library in MemorEase.
If you've forgotten your username and/or password, you can open up MemorEase, and click on the 'Retrieve Login Information' on the login screen. You'll be prompted to enter the email associated with your account. If that email exists, MemorEase will connect to the server to send an email to you with your login information. Please note that you need an active internet connection to access this feature.
There are two possibilities for this error: (1) You're not connected to the internet. Double check your internet connection on your computer to ensure you're connected. (2) The mail server on the website is down. Though rare, servers do go down every now and then.
Any login information that's sent is sent only to the email associated with your account. No copy of the email is stored on the MemorEase servers, nor is it sold or given to any third party(s).
MemorEase will always be free. However, if you enjoy it, please consider donating via PayPal to help fund future development.
Please note that MemorEase is a program created for desktop computers, and is not yet developed for mobile devices.